Lakefront Park in winter


The CGA supports several endowed scholarships and funds for current students. Email Cathy Raddatz to help contribute today!


Alice Hemenway Fellowship:

Alice Hemenway ('74) was a museum leader committed to education and public service. This award is given to a second-year student who exemplifies dedication to professional standards and pratices, service to the museum community, and commitment to linking scholarship, innovative public education, and material culture to deepen and diversify our understanding of Americans past and present.


Louis C. Jones Fellowship:

Established in 1985, this fellowship honors Dr. Jones' outstanding achievements in the museum profession and his founding of the Cooperstown Graduate Program in 1964. Jones worked as a historian, author, folklorist, and director of the New York State Historical Association and The Farmers' Museum. This fellowship provides financial support to students who best exemplify Dr. Jones' commitment to the future of the museum field.


Emily Ann Laird Scholarship:

Lori and Keith Laird established this scholarship to honor their daughter who died in September of 2011. The scholarship will be awarded annually to a second-year student who has overcome a significant challenge.


Daniel D. Mayer Scholarship:

The Daniel D. Mayer Fund for Interpretation through Exhibits is named for Daniel D.Mayer ’73, an exhibition designer with a passion for social, industrial, and agricultural history, who dedicated his professional life to helping history museums interpret their collections. His legacy lives on with students today, through this fellowship, awarded annually to a second-year student.


The Minor Wine Thomas Fund:

This Fund is named in honor of the former Chief Curator and Director of the New York State Historical Society and The Farmers’ Museum. Minor Wine Thomas was a gifted and inspirational teacher at the Graduate Program who developed a pre-industrial technology course. Last year, the fund purchased an external hard drive to archive digitized CGP photos.


Rural-Urban Partnership:

The Rural-Urban Partnership recognizes the changing demographics of the nation and enables students to work during their summer internships with diverse, urban communities as well as with the rural communities around Cooperstown.


John Ben Snow Fellowship:

CGP students enrich the cultural lives of New Yorkers through their research, exhibitions, and public programs. This endowed scholarship was created through gifts of alumni that were matched at a dollar-for-dollar rate by the John Ben Snow Foundation. The John Ben Snow Fellowship recognizes students who are committed to public service.


Langdon G. Wright Fund:

Lanny Wright, a beloved faculty member of the Program for more than three decades, loved to drive around the countryside stopping at great rib joints along the way. The Langdon G. Wright Student Professional Development Fund is awardeds to students for travel, registration fees, and related expenses needed to attend professional conferences and seminars, or to conduct research for the thesis.