College Founds five schools, welcomes new deans

SUNY Oneonta began the academic year with three new deans—and a mission-critical restructuring from two large academic divisions to five schools: Economics and Business, Arts and Humanities, Social Science, Natural and Mathematical Sciences, and Education and Human Ecology.

Three founding deans joined the college over the summer. Dr. Venkat Sharma, dean of the School of Natural and Mathematical Sciences, came from the University of West Alabama, where he was the dean of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics. Dr. Susan Turell, dean of the School of Social Science, came from Clarion University of Pennsylvania, where she was the associate provost. Dr. David Yen, dean of the School of Economics and Business, came from the Farmer School of Business at Miami University of Ohio, where he was the Raymond E. Glos Professor in Business and director of the China Business Program.

College Provost Maria Thompson, who has guided discussions resulting in the reorganization since joining the college in 2011, said the rapid restructuring is testament to the faculty's commitment to creating a student-centered learning community. "If we can bring into being five schools in two years, there's absolutely nothing we cannot accomplish together."

Leading SUNY Oneonta's five schools are (L to R) Dean Venkat Sharma, Interim Dean Wade Thomas, Interim Dean Richard Lee, Dean Susan Turell, and Dean David Yen.
Photo by Michael Forster Rothbart

<< Previous Highlight


Next Highlight >>