SUNY Oneonta
 
 

Faculty & Staff

 
 

The Theatre Department consists of faculty and professional staff specializing in theatrical design, construction, history, text analysis, education, performance, direction, voice, and movement. Our faculty serve as working artists and scholars in their areas of specialization, contributing their talents to academic conferences, publications, performances and related activities on campus, in the community, and in professional theatre venues. Our faculty and staff members take pride in quality teaching and value collaboration with our students and colleagues.

Theatre Faculty

John McCaslin-Doyle

John McCaslin-Doyle
Department Chair
Associate Professor of Theatre History,
Dramatic Literature, & Acting

PhD, Theatre, Bowling Green State University
MAT, Teaching, University of Puget Sound
BFA, Acting, University of Colorado-Boulder

Specialties: Directing, Acting, Theatre History, Dramatic Literature, Play Analysis

Affiliations: Popular Culture Association, ATHE

Year of hire: 2005

John.McCaslin-Doyle@oneonta.edu
Ph. 607-436-3516 / 106 Fine Arts


John Bagby

John Bagby
Professor of Theatrical Design

MFA, Scenic & Lighting Design, University of Texas at Austin
BA, Design & Technology, University of Northern Iowa

Specialties: Scene Design, Scene Painting, Scale Model Building, Prop Design, Lighting Design

Affiliations: USITT

Year of hire: 2001

John.Bagby@oneonta.edu
Ph. 607-436-3418 / 106 Fine Arts


Andrew Kahl

Andrew Kahl
Associate Professor of Acting & Directing

MFA, Acting, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
BA, Dramatic Arts, St. Mary’s College of Maryland

Advisor, Identity Play Reading Series
Certified Associate Teacher, Fitzmaurice Voicework

Specialties: Directing, Acting, Voice and Diction, Auditioning

Affiliations: Actors' Equity Association, Screen Actors Guild, Voice and Speech Trainer's Association

Year of hire: 2005

Andrew.Kahl@oneonta.edu
Ph. 607-436-3125 / 106 Fine Arts / Website


Bethany Marx

Bethany Marx
Assistant Professor of Theatrical Design

MFA, Costume Design, University of Massachusetts
BFA, Costume Design & Technology, University of Evansville

Specialties: Costume Design, Costume Technology, Pattern Drafting, Costume History, Make-up Design

Affiliations: USITT

Year of hire: 2015

Bethany.Marx@oneonta.edu
Ph. 607-436-3780 / 106 Fine Arts / Website


Nancy Bondurant-Couch

Nancy Bondurant-Couch
Adjunct Theatre Faculty

MFA, Children’s Theatre, Virginia Tech
BA, Religion, Emory and Henry College

Specialties: Directing, Acting, Children's Theatre

Nancy.Bondurant-Couch@oneonta.edu
Ph. 607-436-3456 / 106 Fine Arts


Barbara Kahl

Barbara Kahl
Adjunct Theatre Faculty, Theatrical Designer

MFA, Theatre Design, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
BA, Theatre Arts, English Language and Literature,
St. Mary’s College of Maryland

Specialties: Costume Design, Scene Design, Scene Painting, Musical Theatre, Make-up Design, Prop Design, Masks, Textiles, Millinery, Jewelry

Affiliations: Costume Society of America, USITT

Barbara.Kahl@oneonta.edu
Ph. 607-436-3714 / 106 Fine Arts / Website


Carmela Marner

Carmela Marner
Lecturer

BA, Central School of Speech & Drama, UK
BA with Honors, Brown University

Specialties: Directing, Acting, Improvisational Theatre

Affiliations: Actors' Equity Association, Screen Actors Guild, UK Equity

Carmela.Marner@oneonta.edu
Ph. 607-436-3456 / 106 Fine Arts


Bernard Sheredy

Bernard Sheredy
Adjunct Theatre Faculty

MFA, Yale School of Drama

Working Professional Stage, Film, and TV Actor

Specialties: Acting, Directing

Affiliations: Actors' Equity Association, Craftsmen of Dionysus

Bernard.Sheredy@oneonta.edu
Ph. 607-436-3456 / 106 Fine Arts

Professional Staff

Scott Segar

Scott Segar
Technical Director,
Production Manager, Theatrical Designer

MFA, Lighting & Design Technology, University of Texas, Austin
BA, Theatre, Allegheny College

Advisor, Mask & Hammer  Theatre Club
Advisor, Terpsichorean Dance Club

Specialties: Lighting Design, Scenery Construction, Rigging, Prop Design

Affiliations: USITT

Year of hire: 2003

Scott.Segar@oneonta.edu
Ph. 607-436-3414 / 151 Fine Arts


Matthew Grenier

Matthew Grenier
Assistant Technical Director, Theatrical Designer

BS, Mechanical Engineering, Binghamton University

Advisor, Alpha Psi Omega Theatre Honor Society
Certified, Toastmasters International, CC & ALB
Certified, USITT eSET Lighting & Rigging

Specialties: Lighting Design, Scene Design, 3D Computer-Aided Design, Scenery Construction, Rigging, Sound, Prop Design

Affiliations: USITT

Year of hire: 2012

Matthew.Grenier@oneonta.edu
Ph. 607-436-3414 / 151 Fine Arts


Marjean McCaslin-Doyle

Marjean McCaslin-Doyle
Costume Shop Supervisor, Theatrical Designer

BA, Art/Textiles/Music, University of Wisconsin-Platteville

Licensed Cosmetologist/Esthetician/Manicurist,
Clover Park Vocational Technical Institute
Certified, Theatre/Film/Special Effect Make-up,
Joe Blasco Technical Institute

Specialities: Costume Design, Hair Design, Make-up Design, Masks, Wig Master

Affiliations: Costume Society of America

Year of hire: 2005

Marjean.McCaslin-Doyle@oneonta.edu
Ph. 607-436-3716 / B-3 Fine Arts


Cheryl Schwarting

Cheryl Schwarting
Department Secretary

Cheryl.Schwarting@oneonta.edu
Ph. 607-436-3456 / 106 Fine Arts

Dance Faculty

Michelle Gardner

Michelle Gardner
Adjunct Dance Faculty

BA, Theatre, Seton Hill College

Specialties: Musical Theatre, Tap, Ballet

Michelle.Gardner@oneonta.edu
Ph. 607-436-3456 / 106 Fine Arts


Shannah Kane

Shannah Kane
Adjunct Dance Faculty

Co-owner/Operator, Elite Dance Academy

Specialties: Modern, Jazz

Shannah.Kane@oneonta.edu
Ph. 607-436-3456 / 106 Fine Arts


Jillian Skidmore

Jillian Skidmore
Adjunct Dance Faculty

Owner/Operator, Jillian's Dance Arts

Jillian.Skidmore@oneonta.edu
Ph. 607-436-3456 / 106 Fine Arts


Wendy Wade-Sullivan

Wendy Wade-Sullivan
Adjunct Dance Faculty

Owner/Operator, Wendy Wade Dance Studio
Teacher, Stanley-Wade School of Dance
Certified Teacher, Kripalu Yoga

Specialties: Creative Movement, Jazz, Ballroom, Yoga, Pilates

Wendy.Wade@oneonta.edu
Ph. 607-436-3456 / 106 Fine Arts