SUNY Oneonta

Today is:

 

Center for Social Science Research
108 Ravine Pkwy.
14A Schumacher, c/o Ho Hon Leung
Oneonta, NY, 13820

Phone
: 607-436-2239
Fax: 607-436-3525

 
 

Members

Member

Department

Research Interests

Ho Hon Leung
Coordinator, Center for Social Science Research
Professor
Chair of Steering Committee
LEUNGH@oneonta.edu
607-436-2239

Sociology

Immigration and Immigrants; Race and Ethnicity, Architecture, Globalization, Ethnic Aging

Yun-Jung Choi
Associate Professor
Yun-Jung.Choi@oneonta.edu

607-436-2067

Human Ecology

Socio-Psychological Aspects of Consumer Behavior / Relationship between Humans and Technology (Robots, Smart Phones, etc.) / Fashion Entrepreneurship

Emotional Attachment to Mobile Devices: With the guidance of attachment theory, I examine socio-psychological attachment and its impact on purchasing behavior.

Robert Compton
Professor
Robert.Compton@oneonta.edu

607-436-3048

Political Science

Comparative national and regional political development in Southern Africa and East Asia, and regional human security concerns and international political economy’s impact on state policy. 

Currently working on two research projects, one involving Human Security and SADC and ASEAN Regionalism and another on exploring dissonance between internal cohesion and regional integration in Africa and East Asia.

Sallie Han
Associate Professor
Sallie.Han@oneonta.edu
607-436-2001

Anthropology

forthcoming

Brian D. Haley
Professor & Chair
Brian.Haley@oneonta.edu
607-436-2001

Anthropology

Identity Construction,; Chumash, Ethnicity and Nationalism, Ethnogenesis, Invention of tradition, Indigenization, Globalization, Immigration, Industrial agriculture, Policy analysis, Southwest Borderlands

Matthew Hendley
Professor
HENDLEM@oneonta.edu
607-436-3364

History

Modern British History (1900-1945) gender, women and British politics, political culture, popular imperialism and Conservatism, consumerism, World Wars I and II.

Brian Lowe
Associate Professor
lowebm@oneonta.edu
607-436-3046

Sociology

The Social Imaginary, Animals and Society.

Theresa Russo
Associate Professor
RUSSOT@oneonta.edu
607-436-2450

Human Ecology

Life Course Studies, childhood obesity, impact of media on children, technology influence on interpersonal communication.

Alexander Thomas
Professor
THOMASA@oneonta.edu
607-436-2149

Sociology


Urban & Community Sociology, Social Change, Historical Comparative Methods

Gregory Fulkerson
Associate Professor
FULKERGM@oneonta.edu
607-436-2834

Sociology


Rural Sociology, Environmental Sociology, Community, Social Change, Globalization

Brett Heindl
Associate Professor
brett.heindl@oneonta.edu
607-436-3923

Political Science

Immigration and Citizenship, Transnational Political Activism, International Human Rights, Religious Freedom and Minority Rights.

Sally Han
Associate Professor
sally.han@oneonta.edu
607-436-2715

Anthropology

Medical anthropology, reproduction, kinship, gender, children and childhood, friendship, language and literacy, material culture, United States

Mark Ferrara
Associate Professor
607-436-2459

Mark.Ferrara@oneonta.edu
English

World literatures, Eastern philosophy, and cultural studies.

Currently writing an ethno-historical survey of cannabis in world cultures (in religion, ritual, and as medicine).