Dept. of Political Science
SUNY College at Oneonta
Oneonta, NY 13820
Schumacher Hall 10



What is Political Science? What do Political scientists do? What can I do with a degree in Political Science? See What our Alumni are doing.
Click here: alumni.asp

The Political Science Department focuses upon the instruction of undergraduate students. Its resources are entirely committed to teaching undergraduates, and professional development of faculty. The department does not offer graduate degrees. Classes are not taught by graduate teaching assistants.

  • To provide both introductory and advanced levels of undergraduate instruction in government and politics by employing the comparative, behavioral, philosophical, and institutional approaches to the discipline.

  • To encourage undergraduate interest in the analysis of political phenomena from both the scientific and philosophical viewpoints.

  • To foster the idea that "analytical thinking" based on factual information and disciplined analysis is desirable.

  • To prepare students in all academic majors for active, effective democratic citizenship.

Department News

Political Science Networking Night
4:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Le Cafe, Morris Hall

This is an opportunity for students currently studying political science to meet and mingle with alumni who graduated with political science degrees. The alumni participating will be from vast career paths, so this will allow the students to see the many different ways a political science degree can be utilized.
Contact James Errico in the Alumni Association HERE


Go Further.

Thinking about studying abroad?
Hear from recently returned
Political Science, International Studies, and International Development students!

November 11th
Schumacher 110