SUNY Oneonta


Physics & Astronomy Department
Dr. Michael Faux, Chair

Voice: (607) 436-3145
Fax: (607) 436-2654

 
 

Faculty & Staff

 
 

The department includes six full-time faculty. Six are tenured or hold tenure track positions and emphasize high-quality teaching. Students also benefit from the broad span of our faculty's expertise. The research interests of the faculty include composite materials, electronics, engineering (including CAD/CAM/CAE applications), holography, lasers and photonics, magnetism and magnetic materials, microcomputing, optics, video analysis of motion, ionospheric and magnetospheric processes, globular clusters, and string theory.

Allen Anderson
Science Technician
51 Bacon Hall
Phone: 607-436-3197
Email: Allen.Anderson@oneonta.edu

Dr. Brian Brennan

Adjunct Lecturer
101 Physical Science Building
Phone: 607-436-3127
Email: Brian.Brennan@oneonta.edu

Dr. Michael Faux
Chair & Associate Professor
34 Bacon Hall
Phone: 607-436-3145
Email: Michael.Faux@oneonta.edu

Dr. Paul A. French
Associate Professor
37 Bacon Hall
Phone: 607-436-3358
Email: Paul.French@oneonta.edu

Dr. Hugh A. Gallagher
Associate Professor
31 Bacon Hall
Phone: 607-436-3177
Email: Hugh.Gallagher@oneonta.edu

Dr. Sunil Labroo
Professor
38 Bacon Hall
Phone: 607-436-3323
Email: Sunil.Labroo@oneonta.edu

Dr. Kamala Mahanta
Associate Professor
30 Bacon Hall
Phone: 607-436-3342
Email: Kamala.Mahanta@oneonta.edu

Dr. Michael P. Merilan
(1956-2010)

Dr. Jim Michels
Adjunct Lecturer
36 Bacon Hall
Phone: 607-436-3127
Email: James.Michels@oneonta.edu

David Morell
Email: David.Morell@oneonta.edu

Dr. Josh Nollenberg
Assistant Professor
35 Bacon Hall
Phone: 607-436-2620
Email: Joshua.Nollenberg@oneonta.edu

Sheila Birkett
Secretary
130 Physical Science Building
Phone: 436-3192
Email: Sheila.Birkett@oneonta.edu