SUNY Oneonta

Department of Philosophy
160 Fitzelle Hall
SUNY Oneonta
Oneonta, NY 13820-4015

Phone: (607) 436-2456
Fax: (607) 436-2435



Philosophy Faculty & Staff


Michael Green

Applied Ethics, Logic, History of Philosophy, Cultural Studies

B.A. University of Kansas
Ph.D. University of Chicago

Susan Sutton Smith Prize for Faculty Excellence, 2009

Office: Fitzelle 153
P. (607) 436-2470
Links: Curriculum Vita


Katherine Bashaw
Department of Philosophy

Office: Fitzelle 160
P. (607) 436-2456


Chris Keegan
Assistant Professor

On leave for the Academic Year 2017-18.

Philosophical Psychology, Ethics, Political Philosophy, Social Epistemology, Urban Philosophy

B.A. Union College
M.A.T. Union College
M.A. SUNY Buffalo
Ph.D. SUNY Buffalo

Office: Fitzelle 160
P. (607) 436-2811 or 2456


Michael P. Koch
Associate Professor

Humanities, Social Philosophy, History of Philosophy

Undergraduate Studies, Simon's Rock Early College
B.A. Bard College
D.A. Philosophy, Social and Politial Theory, SUNY Albany

Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Faculty Service, 2014
Phi Sigma Tau, Faculty Adviser

Office: Fitzelle 155
P. (607) 436-3721
Links: Curriculum Vita


Achim Koeddermann  
Associate Professor & Chair

Environmental Ethics, Media Ethics, European Philosophy, Hermeneutics

B.A. Gutenberg-Gymnasium: Wiesbaden, Germany (Abitur)
M.A. Johannes-Gutenberg-Universitat: Mainz, Germany
Ph.D. Johannes-Gutenberg-Universitat: Mainz, Germany

Research-Fellow at the Bibiliotheque Nationale : Paris, 1987-1990
Richard Siegfried Junior Faculty Prize for Academic Excellence, 1995
Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Faculty Service, 2005
VP and Secretary of the University Faculty Senate, Albany, 2005/2006
Visiting Professor at Denver University (Colorado) & Sripatum University (Bangkok, Thailand)

Office: Fitzelle 152
P. (607) 436-3037
Links: Home Page & Curriculum Vita


Rafael Mota

Adjunct Lecturer

Office: 160 Fitzelle Hall
P: (607) 436-2456



Jean-Paul Orgeron
Adjunct Faculty

Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science

B.A. Louisiana State University
M.L.I.S. Louisiana State University
Ph.D. Tulane University

Esther Hubbard Whitaker Award, 2013
TRG, leader

Office: James M. Milne Library 310F
P. (607) 436-2998


Daniel Patrone
Lecturer Philosophy

Office: 152 Fitzelle Hall
P: (607) 436-3037



Elyse Purcell
Assistant Professor

Philosophy of Mind and Psychology, Bioethics, Social and Political Philosophy

B.A. University of Dallas
M.A. Boston College
Ph.D. Boston College

Office: Fitzelle 156
P. (607) 436-3220


Qiong Wang
Associate Professor

Asian Philosophy and Comparative Studies, Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy

B.A. Beijing University
M.A. Beijing University
Ph.D. University of Connecticut

Office: Fitzelle 157
P. (607) 436-2330




Ashok Malhotra
Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus

Existentialism, Asian Philosophy, Philosophy & Psychology of Yoga

B.A. University of Rajasthan: India
M.A. University of Rajasthan: India
Ph.D. University of Hawaii

United University Professions Award for Excellence, 1991
Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching, 1994
Distinguished Alumni Award, East West Center, 2000
Distinguished Teaching Professor, 2001
Distinguished Alumni Award, University of Hawaii, 2010
Nobel Peace Prize Nominee, 2010
Founder, Yoga and Meditation Society
Founder, The Ninash Foundartion


Dr. Anthony Roda (1939-2010)



Dr. Douglas Shrader (1953-2010)