SUNY Oneonta

Today is:

Department of Philosophy
160 Fitzelle Hall
SUNY Oneonta
Oneonta, NY 13820-4015

Phone: (607) 436-2456
Fax: (607) 436-2435

 

 
 

Philosophy Faculty & Staff

 
 

Michael Green
Professor

Applied Ethics, Logic, History of Philosophy, Cultural Studies

B.A. University of Kansas
Ph.D. University of Chicago

Susan Sutton Smith Prize for Faculty Excellence, 2009

Office: Fitzelle 153
P. (607) 436-2470
Email: Michael.Green@oneonta.edu
Links: Curriculum Vita

 
 

Suzanne Brown
Secretary
Department of Philosophy
Department of Africana & Latino Studies

A. A. S. SUNY Cobleskill

Office: Fitzelle 160
P. (607) 436-2456
Email: Suzanne.Brown@oneonta.edu

 
 

Chris Keegan 
Assistant Professor & Chair

Philosophical Psychology, Ethics, Political Philosophy, Social Epistemology, Urban Philosophy

B.A. Union College
M.A.T. Union College
M.A. SUNY Buffalo
Ph.D. SUNY Buffalo

Office: Fitzelle 160
P. (607) 436-2811 or 2456
Email: Chris.Keegan@oneonta.edu

 
 

Michael P. Koch
Associate Professor

Humanities, Social Philosophy, History of Philosophy

Undergraduate Studies, Simon's Rock Early College
B.A. Bard College
D.A. Philosophy, Social and Politial Theory, SUNY Albany

Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Faculty Service, 2014

Office: Fitzelle 155
P. (607) 436-3721
Email: Michael.Koch@oneonta.edu
Links: Curriculum Vita

 
 

Achim Koeddermann  
Associate Professor

Environmental Ethics, Media Ethics, European Philosophy, Hermeneutics

B.A. Gutenberg-Gymnasium: Wiesbaden, Germany (Abitur)
M.A. Johannes-Gutenberg-Universitat: Mainz, Germany
Ph.D. Johannes-Gutenberg-Universitat: Mainz, Germany

Research-Fellow at the Bibiliotheque Nationale : Paris, 1987-1990
Richard Siegfried Junior Faculty Prize for Academic Excellence, 1995
Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Faculty Service, 2005
VP and Secretary of the University Faculty Senate, Albany, 2005/2006
Visiting Professor at Denver University (Colorado) & Sripatum University (Bangkok, Thailand)

Office: Fitzelle 152
P. (607) 436-3037
Email: Achim.Koeddermann@oneonta.edu
Links: Home Page & Curriculum Vita

 
 

Ashok Malhotra
Distinguished Teaching Professor

Existentialism, Asian Philosophy, Philosophy & Psychology of Yoga

B.A. University of Rajasthan: India
M.A. University of Rajasthan: India
Ph.D. University of Hawaii

United University Professions Award for Excellence, 1991
Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching, 1994
Distinguished Alumni Award, East West Center, 2000
Distinguished Teaching Professor, 2001
Distinguished Alumni Award, University of Hawaii, 2010
Nobel Peace Prize Nominee, 2010
Founder, Yoga and Meditation Society
Founder, The Ninash Foundartion

Office: Fitzelle 156
P. (607) 436-3220
Email: Ashok.Malhotra@oneonta.edu
Links: Home Page & Curriculum Vita

 
 

Jean-Paul Orgeron
Lecturer

Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science

B.A. Louisiana State University
Ph.D. Tulane University

Esther Hubbard Whitaker Award, 2013
Phi Sigma Tau, Faculty Adviser

Office: Fitzelle 151
P. (607) 436-3083
Email: Jean-Paul.Orgeron@oneonta.edu

 
 

Dan Patrone
Lecturer

Ethics, Applied Ethics/Bioethics, Logic

B.A. SUNY Fredonia
Ph.D. SUNY Albany

Office: Fitzelle 150
P. (607) 436-3082
Email: Daniel.Patrone@oneonta.edu

 
 

Qiong Wang
Assistant Professor

Asian Philosophy and Comparative Studies, Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy

B.A. Beijing University
M.A. Beijing University
Ph.D. University of Connecticut

Office: Fitzelle 157
P. (607) 436-2330
Email: Qiong.Wang@oneonta.edu