SUNY Oneonta

Today is:

Department of Philosophy
10 Denison Hall
SUNY Oneonta
Oneonta, NY 13820-4015

Phone: (607) 436-2456
Fax: (607) 436-2653

 
 

Philosophy Faculty & Staff

 
 

Michael Green
Professor

Applied Ethics, Logic, History of Philosophy, Cultural Studies

B.A. University of Kansas
Ph.D. University of Chicago

Susan Sutton Smith Prize for Faculty Excellence, 2009

Office: Denison 46
P. (607) 436-2470
Email: Michael.Green@oneonta.edu
Links: Curriculum Vita

 
 

Cindi Hall
Philosophy & Anthropology Secretary

A. A. S. SUNY Morrisville
B.S. SUNY Oneonta

Office: Denison 10
P. (607) 436-2456
Email: Cindi.Hall@oneonta.edu

 
 

Chris Keegan | On Sabbatical Leave, Fall 2013
Assistant Professor

Political/Moral Philosophy, Urban Philosophy, Ethnic Studies, Radical Philosophy

B.A. Union College
M.A.T. Union College
M.A. SUNY Buffalo
Ph.D. SUNY Buffalo

Office: Denison 40
P. (607) 436-2811
Email: Chris.Keegan@oneonta.edu

 
 

Michael P. Koch
Associate Professor

Humanities, Social Philosophy, History of Philosophy

B.A. Bard College
D.A. SUNY Albany

Office: Denison 17
P. (607) 436-3721 or 2456
Email: Michael.Koch@oneonta.edu
Links: Curriculum Vita

 
 

Achim Koeddermann  | On Sabbatical Leave, Fall 2013 & Spring 2014
Associate Professor

Environmental Ethics, Media Ethics, European Philosophy, Hermeneutics

B.A. Gutenberg-Gymnasium: Wiesbaden, Germany (Abitur)
M.A. Johannes-Gutenberg-Universitat: Mainz, Germany
Ph.D. Johannes-Gutenberg-Universitat: Mainz, Germany

Research-Fellow at the Bibiliotheque Nationale : Paris, 1987-1990
Richard Siegfried Junior Faculty Prize for Academic Excellence, 1995
Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Faculty Service, 2005
VP and Secretary of the University Faculty Senate, Albany, 2005/2006
Visiting Professor at Denver University (Colorado) & Sripatum University (Bangkok, Thailand)

Office: Denison 41
P. (607) 436-3037
Email: Achim.Koeddermann@oneonta.edu
Links: Home Page & Curriculum Vita

 
 

Ashok Malhotra
Distinguished Teaching Professor

Existentialism, Asian Philosophy, Philosophy & Psychology of Yoga

B.A. University of Rajasthan: India
M.A. University of Rajasthan: India
Ph.D. University of Hawaii

United University Professions Award for Excellence, 1991
Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching, 1994
Distinguished Teaching Professor, 2001

Office: Denison 47
P. (607) 436-3220
Email: Ashok.Malhotra@oneonta.edu
Links: Home Page & Curriculum Vita

 
 

Jean-Paul Orgeron
Lecturer

Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science

B.A. Louisiana State University
Ph.D. Tulane University

Esther Hubbard Whitaker Award, 2013
Phi Sigma Tau, Faculty Adviser

Office: Denison 49
P. (607) 436-3083
Email: Jean-Paul.Orgeron@oneonta.edu

 
 

Dan Patrone
Lecturer

Ethics, Applied Ethics/Bioethics, Logic

B.A. SUNY Fredonia
Ph.D. SUNY Albany

Office: Denison 41
P. (607) 436-
Email: Daniel.Patrone@oneonta.edu

 
 

Laura T. Di Summa-Knoop
Lecturer

Philosophy of Art, Literature and Film, Cognitive Psychology, Ethics

M.A. Concordia University
Ph.D. CUNY, The Graduate Center

Office:
P. (607) 436-
Email: Laura.DiSumma-Knoop@oneonta.edu

 
 

Qiong Wang
Assistant Professor

Asian Philosophy and Comparative Studies, Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy

B.A. Beijing University
M.A. Beijing University
Ph.D. University of Connecticut

Office: Denison 48
P. (607) 436-2330
Email: Qiong.Wang@oneonta.edu