School Counselors



April 21, 2010  

ONEONTA, N.Y. -- Dr. William Ashbaugh, Associate Professor and Chair of the History Department at the SUNY College at Oneonta, has been awarded the College’s 2010 Susan Sutton Smith Prize for Academic Excellence. Dr. Ashbaugh will deliver the sixteenth annual Susan Sutton 5Smith Lecture, a presentation entitled “Contesting Japanese Traumatic War Narratives through Television Animation: Space Battleship Yamato and Mobile Suit Gundam,” on Friday, April 30, at 7 p.m. in the Craven Lounge of the Morris Conference Center. Admission is complimentary, and members of the community are invited to attend the presentation.

A recipient of the 2008 SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, William Ashbaugh joined the SUNY Oneonta faculty in 2001. He holds a doctorate in history from Temple University and a master’s in Asian history from San Diego State University. He taught previously at San Diego State, California State at San Marcos, Drexel, and Penn State. At SUNY Oneonta, Dr. Ashbaugh has developed and taught history courses on Japan, China, India, and American foreign policy, and he teaches courses on World War II and the Cold War.

Earlier this year, Dr. Ashbaugh was awarded an international Fulbright Scholar grant to teach and conduct research in Kyoto, Japan. As part of his assignment, he will teach courses on U.S. Foreign Relations and the Cold War through Film to graduate students in the new Global Studies program at Doshisha University in Kyoto.

Dr. Ashbaugh is the author of the extensive section on East Asia in the three-volume “Greenwood Encyclopedia of Global and Medieval Life and Culture,” which was published in 2009.
Created to recognize faculty achievement outside the classroom, the Susan Sutton Smith Prize for Academic Excellence is named in honor of the late SUNY Oneonta professor of English. The prize is made possible by an endowment created through the generosity of Dr. Thomas Smith and Mrs. Mary Smith in memory of their daughter, Susan, and in honor of her commitment to academic excellence. The recipient of the prize is chosen from nominations submitted to a committee of faculty and administrators.

The Susan Sutton Smith Lecture will cap a day of events recognizing academic excellence at the College. At an awards breakfast, Dr. Ashbaugh will receive the Smith Prize, and students with grade-point averages of 3.9 or above in the fall semester will be recognized with gift cards to purchase textbooks at the College store. The events and the student awards are made possible by the generous gifts of SUNY Oneonta alumni to the 2009-10 Fund for Oneonta.

For more information about the College, please call the Community Relations Office at (607) 436-2748 or send e-mail to Hal Legg, Director of Communications.


History Department Awards Ceremony

The History Department’s award ceremony will be held Wednesday, May 4, 2011 at 4:00 pm in Morris Conference Center, room 130. 

The 2011 award recipients include: Brittany Thomas – Academic Achievement Award; Daniel Kaufman – Crippen Award; William Sacco – Daughter’s of the American Revolution Award; Michael Avitabile – Michael Wright Memorial Book Prize; Samantha Clink – Michael Wright Memorial Book Prize and Nora Venezky – Sam Caplen History Service Award. 

During the award ceremonies winners of the Redfield Essay contest will also be presented. This years winners are Christina Paladino, Heather Bailey and Paul Tritschler

New members to Phi Alpha Theta will also be recognized at the ceremony: Victoria Chafee, Samantha Clink, Bryan Florkiewicz, Ethan Horgan, Emily Hunter, Nicole Musich, Dylan Nealis, Lauren Reynolds, and Ariel Wilber