Today is:

Department of Geography & Environmental Sustainability at SUNY Oneonta
317 Milne Library
(607) 436-3459
Fax: (607) 436-3438

Chair:
Dr. Wendy Lascell

Secretary:
Jill Stafford

Like us on
Facebook!

 
 


Faculty & Staff

 
 

Meet our Faculty

Tracy Easter IslandTracy H Allen
Associate Professor
Tracy.Allen@oneonta.edu
Milne 317B, 436-3152

 

Education:
B.A. George Mason University,
M.S. George Mason University,
PhD. Oregon State University

Courses taught

GEOG 100

Introductory Geography

GEOG 201

Physical Geography of the Global Environment

ENVS 201

Introduction to Environmental Issues

GEOG 202

Regional Climatology

GEOG 238

Sustainable Development in Developing Countries

GEOG 304

Biogeography of a Diverse Planet

GEOG 305

Geography and Planning of Water Resources

Field Course Abroad

GEOG 294

SpTp: Costa Rica: Culture & Environment 

GEOG 294

SptTp: Mexico: Culture & Environment 

GEOG 294

SpTp: Spain: Culture & Environment 

GEOG 294

SpTp: Britain & Ireland: Culture & Environment 

GEOG 294

SpTp: Greece & Turkey: Culture & Environment 

GEOG 294

SpTp: Australia/New Zealand  


 

Benjamin Y. Dixon
Associate Professor
Ben.Dixon@oneonta.edu
Milne 321A, 436-2247

 


Education:

B.A. Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania,
M.A. University of Kansas,
PhD. University of Oklahoma

Courses taught

GEOG 100

Introductory Geography

GEOG 225

Population Geography and the Environment

GEOG 240

Cartographic Principles

GEOG 250

Historical Geography of the United States

GEOG 394

SpTp: Advanced World Geography

 

Trevor Fuller
Assistant Professor
Trevor.Fuller@oneonta.edu
Milne 323, 436-3398

 

 

Education:
B.S. Purdue University
M.A. Indiana State University
Ph.D. University of Illinois

Courses taught

GEOG 100

Introductory Geography

ENVS 101

Environmental Science

GEOG 241

GIS: Principles and Methods

GEOG 244

Environmental Applications of GIS

GEOG 260

Geography of U.S. and Canada

GEOG 294 SpTp: Environmental Justice
GEOG 341 GIS: Advanced Methods


 

Kenneth A. Johnson
Associate Professor
Kenneth.Johnson@oneonta.edu
Milne 321C, 436-3379



Education:
B.A. Hunter College,
M.R.P. Syracuse University,
PhD. Syracuse University

Courses taught

GEOG 100

Introductory Geography

GEOG 210

Economic Geography and Sustainability

GEOG 227

Sustainable Urban Planning

GEOG 270

Geography of Europe

GEOG 313

Transportation Planning for Smart Growth

GEOG 348

Regional and Land Use Planning

Field Course Abroad

GEOG 294

SpTp: Costa Rica: Culture & Environment 

GEOG 294

SptTp: Mexico: Culture & Environment  

GEOG 294

SpTp: Spain: Culture & Environment 

GEOG 294

SpTp: Britain & Ireland: Culture & Environment 

GEOG 294

SpTp: Greece & Turkey: Culture & Environment 

GEOG 294

SpTp: Australia/New Zealand  

 

 

James E. Mills
Associate Professor
James.Mills@oneonta.edu
Milne 321B, 436-3150

 

Education:
B.S. University of Wisconsin,
M.S. University of Minnesota,
PhD. University of Minnesota

Courses taught

GEOG 100

Introductory Geography

GEOG 230

Geography of Culture and Environment

GEOG 231

Religion, Spirit and Environment

GEOG 274

Geography of Asia

GEOG 277

Geography of Southeast Asia

GEOG 279

Geography of China, Japan and Korea

Field Course Abroad

GEOG 294

SpTp: Vietnam: Ed. & Geog. Environments 

 

Wendy A. Lascell
Assistant Professor & Department Chair
Wendy.Lascell@oneonta.edu
Milne 319, 436-2192

 


Education:
B.S. SUNY Oneonta
M.S. Oregon State University
PhD. Rutgers University

Courses taught

GEOG 100

Introductory Geography

GEOG 217

Tourism: Geography and Planning

GEOG 232

Coastal Zone Managment

GEOG 233

Geography of Urban Environments

GEOG 245

Remote Sensing: Aerial Photo Interpretation

GEOG 246

Remote Sensing: Airborne Missions

GEOG 262

Geography of New York State and the Northeast

GEOG 294

Hidden Geographies

Domestic Field Course, Service-Learning

GEOG 294

Disaster Geographies in Post-Katrina New Orleans

 

Tyra Olstad
Lecturer
Tyra.Olstad@oneonta.edu
Milne 322, 436-3479

 


Education:
M.A. University of Wyoming
Ph.D. Kansas State University B.A. Dartmouth College

Courses taught

GEOG 100

Introductory Geography

ENVS 101

Environmental Science

ENVS 250

Environmental Monitoring

GEOG/ENVS 268

United States Environmental History

ENVS 390

Environmental Science Seminar

 

Adjuncts

 
 

Paul Baumann
Adjunct Instructor
Paul.Baumann@oneonta.edu
Milne 320, 436-3459

 


Education:
A.B. Indiana University,
A.M. Indiana University,
Doctoral Work - University of Cincinnati

Courses taught

GEOG 260

Geography of the United States and Canada

GEOG 345

Remote Sensing of Environments

 

Diane Carlton
Adjunct Instructor
Milne 320, 436-3378

 

 

Education:
B.A. SUNY Geneseo,
M.P.A. University of Delaware,
A.I.C.P. American Institute of Certified Planners

Courses taught

GEOG 236

Environmental Planning

GEOG 237

Environmental Impact Analysis

 

Emeritus Faculty

 

Martha L. Corry




Jose F. Betancourt

Thomas G. Gergel

Charles (Bill) Woolever
1931-2004

ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES

Instruction in the Environmental Sciences is primarily by faculty from the departments of Biology, Earth Sciences, and Geography with supporting courses in Chemistry, Mathematical and Computer Sciences, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology.

Environmental Sciences Program Director
James E. Mills, Geography 
321B Milne Library
(607) 436-3150

Paul Lord
Paul.Lord@oneonta.edu

200 Chase Phy. Ed. Bldg.

Donna Vogler
Donna.Vogler@oneonta.edu
112A Science I

Jerome B. Blechman
Jerome.Blechman@oneonta.edu
311B Science I

Leslie Hasbargen
Leslie.Hasbargen@oneonta.edu
219 Science I

Michael Koch
Michael.Koch@oneonta.edu
17 Dennison

Achim Koeddermann
Achim.Koeddermann@oneonta.edu
41 Dennison

Jacqueline Bennett
Jacqueline.Bennett@oneonta.edu
215 Physical Science

Greg Fulkerson
Gregory.Fulkerson@oneonta.edu
14 B Schumacher

Gina Keel
Gina.Keel@oneonta.edu
14H Schumache