Today is:

Department of Geography & Environmental Sustainability at SUNY Oneonta
317 Milne Library
(607) 436-3459
Fax: (607) 436-3438

Dr. Wendy Lascell

Jill Stafford

Like us on


Scholarships and Awards


Academic Achievement Award 2016-2017:  
Geography: Peter Booth
Environmental Science: David Busby
Environmental Sustainability: Maia Roseval

Dr. Martha L. Corry Scholarship 2017-2018:
Phillip Riccobono

Association of American Geographers Award for Excellence of Scholarship
(National Council for Geographic Education) 2016-2017
Chloe Bellcourt

Outstanding Senior Award 2016-2017
Taylor Litwin (ENVS)
Grace Maecker (ENSS)

Jaclyn Courter (GEOG)

Caleb Brah (GEOG)


Helga Reissner Karker Scholarship

Created by Helga R. Karker, class of 1955G, in memory of her father, Dr. Albert Reissner, this endowed scholarship for students majoring in environmental sciences with a demonstrated need for financial assistance was awarded for the first time in the fall of 1995. First preference is given to women who are Environmental Science Program majors. Selections are determined by the Financial Aid Office.

Dr. John G. New Scholarship

The Dr. John G. New Scholarship has been established in memory of Dr. New, who served our College as professor and chair of the Biology Department. Dr. New was an advocate for environmental awareness and a driving force in the establishment of our Biological Field Station in Cooperstown. The scholarship will be awarded to ecology, environmental sciences or biology students who have proven academic achievement, interest in research, and who advocate that economic progress be compatible with a quality environment.