Summer Session 2015:
Registration begins March 2, 2015

Short Session:
May 18- June 5
Summer Session I:
May 26-June 26
Summer Session II:
July 6-August 7
Full Session:
May 18-August 7

Continuing Education
website maintained by
Michelle Thibault

 
 

Domestic Intercultural Immersion Project

 

Funded by the StAR process, this initiative is designed to support implementation of domestic intercultural immersion experiences for SUNY Oneonta students.  Projects may focus on issues, themes, and location with historical and/or current significance in the United States or on its borders.  Interdisciplinary proposals, in particular, are encouraged.

Funding for this project could support staff and faculty to coordinate the details of student recruitment, development of the learning experience/curriculum and outcomes, travel costs for faculty/staff and students, and student worker stipends. 

Last August the first round of funding was available for proposals in support of the Domestic Intercultural Immersion Project.  The committee received 5 proposals.  We were able to fund the following three.
 
·         Anita Levine and Wendy Lascell proposed to take a group of students to New Orleans 9th ward to continue to assist in Hurricane Katrina recovery efforts.

·         Fanli Jia and Qiong Wong will be developing relationships with the Chinese Community Center in Flushing, Queens, to take a group of students to Chinatown there, where they will work in various programs.

·         Eliot Ruggles and Theresa Russo will be working with non-profit agencies in Philadelphia to set up opportunities for our students to work with homeless youth in the Philadelphia area.

To be considered for funding for the 2015-16 fiscal year, proposals must be submitted electronically to Kelly Spettel (Kelly.Spettel@oneonta.edu) by April 17, 2015. 

Proposal guidlines can be found here.
For your assistance: proposal coversheet and budget template.

There will be two information sessions held to answer questions regarding the proposals and to assist with the development of a budget. Attendance at one of the information sessions listed below is strongly recommended.

Monday, March 23rd: 1:00-2:00 in Schumacher 106
Wednesday, March 25th: 12:00-1:00 in Netzer 310

 

Feel free to contact a committee member with questions regarding the proposal.


Committee Members:
Mary Bonderoff, Program Development/Special Events Associate
Mary.Bonderoff@oneonta.edu
436‐2663

Linda Drake, Executive Director Center for Social Responsibility
Linda.Drake@oneonta.edu
436‐2633

Wendy Lascell, Assistant Professor Geography
Wendy.Lascell@oneonta.edu
436‐2192

Ho Hon Leung, Associate Professor Sociology
HoHon.Leung@oneonta.edu
436‐2239

Theresa Russo, Associate Professor Human Ecology
Theresa.Russo@oneonta.edu
436‐2450

Michelle Thibault, Director Continuing Education/Summer Session
Michelle.Thibault@oneonta.edu
436‐2548

Susan Turell, Dean, School of Social Sciences
Susan.Turell@oneonta.edu
436‐3488

Renee Walker, Chair of Anthropology
Renee.Walker@oneonta.edu
436‐3346

 

135 Netzer Administration Building, Oneonta, NY 13820

Phone: 800.SUNY.123 x2548 or 607.436.2548

Fax #: 607.436.3084