Summer Office Hours 2016:
Monday-Friday 9:00am-4:00pm

Summer Session 2016:
Register online beginning March 14, 2016

Short Session:
May 16- June 3
Summer Session I:
May 23- June 24
Summer Session II:
July 5- August 5
Full Session:
May 16- August 12

Continuing Education
website maintained by
Michelle Thibault

 
 

Domestic Intercultural Immersion Project

 

Founded in the belief that students can have significant intercultural experiences without traveling outside of the United States and funded by the StAR process, this initiative is designed to support implementation of domestic intercultural immersion experiences for SUNY Oneonta students.  Projects may focus on issues, themes, and location with historical and/or current significance in the United States or on its borders.   Programs may or may not be associated with a credit bearing course.  Interdisciplinary proposals, in particular, are encouraged.

Funding for this project could support staff and faculty to coordinate the details of student recruitment, development of the learning experience/curriculum and outcomes, travel costs for faculty/staff and students, and student worker stipends. 

There will be two information sessions held to answer questions regarding the proposals and to assist with the development of the budget. Attendance is strongly recommended.

  • Monday, March 28:  11:00, 282 Fitzelle
  • Thursday, March 31: 2:00, 169 Fitzelle

To be considered for funding, proposals must be submitted electronically to Kelly Spettel (Kelly.Spettel@oneonta.edu ) by April  11, 2016.

This spring semester students have traveled to New Orleans, the Mexico/US border in Arizona, Los Angeles and Brooklyn, all funded by the domestic intercultural immersion program.  Where would you like to take students in the United States to give them a unique cultural perspective?  Have an idea?  Come to an information meeting to work with the committee to flush it out.

Proposal guidlines can be found here.
For your assistance: proposal coversheet and budget template.


Feel free to contact a committee member with questions regarding the proposal.


Committee Members:

Linda Drake, Executive Director Center for Social Responsibility
Linda.Drake@oneonta.edu
436‐2633

Wendy Lascell, Assistant Professor Geography
Wendy.Lascell@oneonta.edu
436‐2192

Ho Hon Leung, Associate Professor Sociology
HoHon.Leung@oneonta.edu
436‐2239

Theresa Russo, Associate Professor Human Ecology
Theresa.Russo@oneonta.edu
436‐2450

Michelle Thibault, Director Continuing Education/Summer Session
Michelle.Thibault@oneonta.edu
436‐2548

Susan Turell, Dean, School of Social Sciences
Susan.Turell@oneonta.edu
436‐3488

Renee Walker, Chair of Anthropology
Renee.Walker@oneonta.edu
436‐3346

Bill Wilkerson, Professor Political Science
Bill.Wilkerson@oneonta.edu
436-3272

 

132 Netzer Administration Building, Oneonta, NY 13820

Phone: 800.SUNY.123 x2548 or 607.436.2548

Fax #: 607.436.2164