BFS-Logo

BFS Locations

Main Laboratory
5838 State Hwy 80
Cooperstown, NY 13326
Phone: 607-547-8778
Fax: 607-547-5114

-----------

THAYER FARM COMPLEX
Lakeside Farm &
Upland Interpretive Center

7027 State Hwy 80
Springfield, NY
(physical address)

Thayer Boathouse
7016 State Hwy 80
Springfield, NY

Rum Hill
Thurston Hill Rd.
Springfield, NY

-----------

Goodyear Swamp Sanctuary
7290 State Hwy 80
Springfield, NY

-----------

Greenwoods Conservancy
824 Zachow Rd.
Hartwick, NY 13348

-----------

Upper Research Site
Averill Rd.
Cooperstown, NY

-----------

 

 
 
 

Faculty & Staff

 
 

Click Here to View the BFS Volunteer SCUBA Divers

 

On-Site Faculty & Staff

Dr. Bill Harman

Willard N. Harman, CLM
willard.harman@oneonta.edu
ext. 330

Distinguished Service Professor of Biology
Rufus J. Thayer Chair for Otsego Lake Research
Director, Biological Field Station

Responsible for BFS research, teaching, management, & resources.

 

Florian ReydaFlorian Reyda
florian.reyda@oneonta.edu
ext. 352

Assistant Professor of Biology

Parasitology of Fish, Invertebrate Zoology

 
Matt Albright

Matthew F. Albright, CLM
matthew.albright@oneonta.edu
ext. 331

Assistant to the Director, BFS

Responsible for limnological monitoring of Otsego Lake & watershed. Supervisor of laboratories & interns

 

Jeane Bennett-O'Dea Jeane Bennett-O'Dea
jeane.bennett-odea@oneonta.edu
ext. 332

BFS Administrator; Adjunct Lecturer in Biology; Field Trips Coordinator

Intern administration; Accounts; Coordinates Field Trips; Plant systematist

 

Holly Waterfield Holly Waterfield, CLM
holly.waterfield@oneonta.edu
ext. 333

Research Support Specialist

Lake monitoring efforts; monitoring advanced wastewater treatment systems; water chemistry analysis; hydroacoustic surveys.

 
 

David WongDavid Wong, CLM
david.wong@oneonta.edu
ext. 334

Assistant Professor of Biology

Invasive Speicies, Pollution Ecology, Limnology

 

David WongKiyoko Yokota, CLM
kiyoko.yokota@oneonta.edu

Assistant Professor of Biology

Limnology, Phytoplankton Ecology

 
Dr. Bill Butts

William Butts

Professor Emeritus of Biology

Ecology of mosquitoes & other anthropophilic arthropods

 

Jay HarrisonJay Harrison
jay.harrison@oneonta.edu

ext. 400

Maintenance Operations

Building Manager, Cooperstown Campus

 
Gary Emmett

 

Maintenance Operations

General Mechanic

 

SUNY Oneonta Faculty involved in Research and Teaching at the BFS

 

 

Dr. Donna Vogler

Donna Vogler
donna.vogler@oneonta.edu
Phone: 436-3705

Associate Professor of Biology, Biology Department Chair

Plant Ecology, Conservation Biology

 

Dr. Jeff HeilveilJeff Heilveil
jeffrey.heilveil@oneonta.edu
Phone: 436-3162

Assistant Professor of Biology

Population genetics of aquatic invertebrates

 

Leslie HasbargenLeslie Hasbargen
leslie.hasbargen@oneonta.edu
Phone: 436-2741

Assistant Professor, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences

Geomorphology, Fluvial Geology

 

Sean Robinson
sean.robinson@oneonta.edu
Phone: 436-3732

Assistant Professor of Biology

Botany, Bryophyte Reproduction and Ecology

 

Volunteers

 
Earle Peterson

Earle Peterson
epete1850@aol.com

Greenwoods Administrator;
BFS Volunteer

Head of Peterson Family Conservation Trust; Greenwoods benefactor

 
Kathy Ernst

Kathy Ernst
katernst@aol.com

Graphic Artist;
BFS Volunteer

Designs BFS publications