SUNY Oneonta

Academic Program Assessment Committee (APAC)


APAC's charge is to oversee and facilitate academic program assessment planning and to assist academic departments and programs in undertaking programmatic assessment and reporting. People responsible for establishing this committee are the Associate Provost for Institutional Assessment & Effectiveness, Provost, and College Senate.


  1. To be a resource to faculty and academic programs working to implement their assessment program and report assessment results by:
    1. Providing content for and co-sponsoring a program assessment website;
    2. Meeting with department chairs and faculty;
    3. Facilitating for faculty professional development activities related to outcomes assessment
  2. To advise the Provost and Deans regarding academic program assessment on campus.

After appropriate consultation with the Provost and the College Senate Steering Committee, the Presiding Officer of the Faculty will nominate and forward three Faculty members from each of the academic divisions and one from the library to the College Senate for approval. Additionally, two members may be appointed by the Provost. Length of Committee Service: Members of the Committee shall have a term of three years with a two term maximum; after an intervening term, one may seek additional term(s). Terms shall be staggered to allow for appointments on a rotating basis.


The Chair of the College’s Academic Program Assessment Committee may be contacted as follows:

Joshua Palmatier


(607) 436-3648

Questions about assessing academic programs should be directed to the Dean of your School:

Dr. Richard Lee

School of Arts and Humanities

(607) 436-2520

Dr. Wade Thomas

School of Economics and Business

(607) 436-3458

Dr. Jan Bowers

School of Education and Human Ecology

(607) 436-2541

Dr. Tracy Allen

School of Natural and Mathematical Sciences

(607) 436-3488

Dr. Tracy Allen

School of Social Science

(607) 436-3488

Term Expires June 2018

  • John Schaumloffel, (Natural & Mathematical Science - Chemistry & Biochemistry, Provost)
  • Julia Blau, (Social Science - Psychology, Provost)
  • Brian Beitzel, (Education & Human Ecology - Education, Provost) (Sabbatical: Spring 2018)
  • Miguel Leon, (Social Science - History, Senate)

Term Expires June 2019

  • Brenda Seery, (Education & Human Ecology - Human Ecology, Senate)
  • Joshua Palmatier, (Natural & Mathematical Sciences - Mathematics, Computer Science & Statistics, Senate) Chair

Term Expires June 2020

  • Jing Yang, (Economics & Business - Management, Marketing & Infor. Systems, Senate) (Sabbatical: Spring 2018)
  • Daniel Nahson (Arts & Humanities - Foreign Languages & Literatures, Provost)

Term Expires June 2021

  • Amie Doughty (Arts & Humanities - English, Senate)
  • Les Hasbargen (Natural and Mathematical Sciences - Earth & Atmospheric Sciences, Provost)

James Mackin, Provost, ex officio