Communication & Media
Location: IRC - B12
Phone: 607-436-3411
Fax: 607-436-2420

Faculty

Gayane Torosyan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Department Chair
B-12A IRC
Phone: 607-436-2451
Gayane.Torosyan@oneonta.edu

Arthur F. Dauria, Ph.D.
Professor
Communication Studies
B-11F IRC
Phone: 607-436-3510
Arthur.Dauria@oneonta.edu

Mark Simonson
Adjunct Lecturer
Communication Studies
B-18 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3411
Mark.Simonson@oneonta.edu

Amy Hornburg-Heilveil
Adjunct Lecturer
Communication Studies
B-18 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3411
Amy.Hornburg-Heilveil@oneonta.edu

Kristen Blinne, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Communication Studies
IRC B-11A Phone:
607-436-3704
Kristen.Blinne@oneonta.edu

Alan McPheely
Adjunct Lecturer
Mass Communication
B-18 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3049
Alan.McPheely@oneonta.edu

Wm. S. Benedict, Ph.D.
Emeritus Professor,
Communication
B 18 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3049
William.Benedict@oneonta.edu

Raul Feliciano Ortiz, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Mass Communication
IRC B-11E
Phone: 607-436-3704
Raúl.FelicianoOrtiz@oneonta.edu

Valerie Stafford
Department Secretary
B -12 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3411

Valerie.Stafford@oneonta.edu

Nathaniel Bouman, M.F.A.
Associate Professor,
Mass Communication
B-5 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3303
Nat.Bouman@oneonta.edu

John W. Gardner, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Communication Studies
B-6 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3401
John.Gardner@oneonta.edu

Mark Cohen
Adjunct Lecturer
Mass Communication
B-18 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3411
Mark.Cohen@oneonta.edu

Cathy Nardi
Lecturer
Mass Communication
B-11B IRC
Phone: 607-436-3052
Catherine.Nardi@oneonta.edu

David Geasey
Adjunct Lecturer Mass Communication
102 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3263 David.Geasey@oneonta.edu

Theron Verdon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,

Communication Studies
B-8 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3427 Theron.Verdon@oneonta.edu

John Chiang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Communication Studies
B-7 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3426 John.Chiang@oneonta.edu

Karen Stewart, Ph.D.

Asssistant Professor

Mass Communications
B-11D IRC
Phone: 607-436-2372 Karen.Stewart@oneonta.edu

Timothy Welch
Lecturer,
Mass Communications
B-4 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3408

Tim.Welch@oneonta.edu

Kathleen Dwyer
Adjunct Lecturer,
Communications B-18 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3411 Kathleen.Dwyer@oneonta.edu

Rilwan Ameen
Adjunct Lecturer
Comm/Mass Communication
B-18 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3411 Rilwan.Ameen@oneonta.edu

Andrew Bottomley, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Mass Communication
Phone: 607-436-3825 Andrew.Bottomley@oneonta.edu

Dawn Sohns
Lecturer
Mass Communication/Comm
B-20 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3424
Dawn.Sohns@oneonta.edu

Scott Boyer
Lecturer
Mass Comm/Communication Studies
IRC B-9
Phone: 607-436-3411
Scott.Boyer@Oneonta.edu

Jared Stanley
Adjunct Lecturer
Mass Communication
IRC 101
Phone: 607-436-3285
Jared.Stanley@oneonta.edu

Stacy Branigan
Adjunct Lecturer
Communication Studies
Phone: 607-436-3411
Stacy.Branigan@oneonta.edu

Gary Wickham
Adjunct Lecturer
Mass Communication
IRC B-18
Phone: 607-436-2468
Gary.Wickham@oneonta.edu

Christine Buyce
Adjunct Lecturer
Communication Studies
B-18 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3049
Sara.Hammonds@oneonta.edu

Laurel Zeisler, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Communication Studies
B-20 IRC
Phone: 607-436-3449
Laurel.Zeisler@oneonta.edu
Chilton Reynolds
Adjunct Lecturer
Mass Communication
B-256 Milne Library
Phone: 607-436-3411
Chilton.Reynolds@oneonta.edu
Steven McIntosh
Adjunct Lecturer
Communication/Mass Comm Studies
IRC B-18
Phone: 607-436-3411
Steven.McIntosh@oneonta.edu

Jim Calhoun
Adjunct Lecturer
Communication Studies
IRC B-18
Phone: 607-436-3411
Jim.Calhoun@oneonta.edu

Margot Reynolds
Adjunct Lecturer
Communication Studies
IRC B-18
Phone: 607-436-2468
Margot.Reynolds@oneonta.edu
Ronald Helfrich
Adjunct Lecturer
Mass Communication
IRC B-18
Phone: 607-436-2468
Ronald.Helfrich@oneonta.edu

 

Major Program areas

Communication Studies

introduces students to the theories and practices of oral communication and persuasion. Students in this major usually seek careers in business related fields, as well as corporate communication, advertising, sales, public relations, and events management.

 

Mass Communication

is designed to meet the needs of students who seek careers in the fields of broadcasting, journalism, film, audio production and video production.